Skip to main content
We independently evaluate all recommended products. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission.

We often get asked what candy is vegan? As it turns out, a lot of our childhood favorite candies are accidentally vegan. There are also tons of candy manufacturers nowadays who are making vegan-friendly versions of our favorite candies.

Whether it’s to indulge on during the holidays or to munch on during a Netflix binge, vegan candy is exciting to have around. Or some might even say, dangerous to have around. For that reason, we’ve curated the best vegan candy you can find on Amazon in Canada.

Why Most Candy is Not Vegan

Many of the popular candies found in stores are not vegan because they tend to contain animal-based products or animal byproducts. Asides from the obvious example of dairy, some other examples of non-vegan ingredients include gelatin, lanolin, castoreum, honey and carmine. Carmine is a coloring agent used in red candies that is made from crushed female cochineal insects. Pretty gross right? Even more gross is castoreum. Castoreum is discretely labelled as “natural flavoring” and is literally derived from the anal secretions of beavors. This ingredient is most often found in berry or vanilla flavored candies, but it unfortunately won’t be listed in the ingredients.

Disclaimer: Figuring out whether or not a candy is vegan is not always as straight-forward as looking at the ingredients listed. For that reason, we can't guarantee that all of the candy listed in this article is 100% vegan. But we can guarantee that it's at least plant-based.

20+ Best Vegan Candy in Canada in 2023

Swedish Berries

Good news, Swedish Berries are one of those childhood favorite candies that are accidentally vegan!

Get some on Amazon
Jolly Ranchers Hard Candy Package

Jolly Rancher (Hard candy)

While Jolly Rancher candies’ ingredient appear to be vegan-friendly, further analysis lead us to learn that their candies are actually just plant-based.

Get some on Amazon
Sour Patch Kids Package

Sour Patch Kids

While Sour Patch Kids are not vegan due to their coloring agent that is tested on animals, they are plant-based. To eat or not to eat, the choice is yours.

Get some on Amazon
Large bag of Rockets candy


Everyone remembers Rockets from their good ol’ trick-or-treating days. Well, it just so happens that Rockets are another vegan-friendly candy.

Get some on Amazon


We were quite pleased to learn that Skittles do not contain any animal-derived products. Enjoy them as you please!

Get some on Amazon
Swedish Fish candy

Swedish Fish

Swedish Fish is another soft and chewy candy that uses corn starch instead of gelatin. That said, Swedish Fish can happily be enjoyed on a vegan diet!

Get some on Amazon


Air Heads are tasty, tangy and fun to chew. They’re also accidentally vegan! Enjoy their White Mystery flavor.

Get some on Amazon

Cadbury Vegan Salted Caramel Chocolate Bar

Craving smooth milk chocolate that’s vegan-friendly? Cadbury recently launched a fully plant-based chocolate bar in Canada, and it’s delicious! It’s made with almond paste instead of dairy, and comes in a sweet and salty Salted Caramel flavour.

Get some on Amazon
Twizzlers Package


TWIZZLERS are one of those candies that grown adults can totally get away with eating in public. At the end of the day, they’re licorize aren’t they? To our luck, they’re also vegan-friendly.

Get some on Amazon

Smart Sweets Candies

Smart Sweet’s candies are vegan, low in sugar and delicious! Enjoy their peach rings, gummy bears, sweet fish and sour blast buddies.

Get some on Amazon

PÜR Chewing Gum

PÜR’s chewing gums are vegan, aspartame-free and provide long-lasting flavor compared to other gums out there.

Get some on Amazon

Yummy Earth Organic Pops

Yummy Earth’s lollipops are certified vegan, organic and free from artificial coloring. Each pack comes with a variety of fun flavors including mango, pomegranate, cherry and more!

Get some on Amazon

Yupik Gummy Bears (+ more)

We absolutely love Yupik as they carry loads of organic, gelatin-free gummies in bulk sizes. If you’re not fond of gummy bears, explore their Amazon shop for other vegan candy options.

Get some on Amazon

Annie's Pink Lemonade Bunny Fruits

In addition to their famous vegan mac & cheese, Annie’s offers a bunch of yummy vegan candies. We love their Pink Lemonade gummies!

Get some on Amazon

Cocomels - Coconut Milk Caramels

Anyone who was a fan of Werther’s Caramel Candy before going vegan will appreciate Cocomels’ Caramel candies. Instead of dairy, they’re made from creamy, organic coconut milk.

Get some on Amazon

Lindt 70% Dark Chocolate

If you’re into dark chocolate, Lindt’s 70% cacao bar is dairy-free and definitely worth a try! It’s smooth, creamy, slightly sweet yet full-bodied.

Get some on Amazon
Dark Chocolate Almond & Sea Salt Bark

Chocolate Bark with Roasted Almonds & Sea Salt

Made from 62% dark chocolate, Prana’s Chocolate Almond & Sea Salt bark is to die for. It’s also one of few Certified Vegan chocolates on Amazon.

Get some on Amazon

Ginger Chews

Chimes’ Ginger Chews are by far our favorite brand of ginger candies out there. They’re soft, chewvy, made from real Java ginger, slightly spicy and of course, vegan.

Get some on Amazon

Russell Stover Starlight Mints

Whether you’re 92 years old or 20, peppermint candies are convenient to have around. Based on the ingredients list, these candies are also vegan!

Get some on Amazon

Candy Canes

Are candy canes vegan? Not always, but Sweet Nature’s Candy Canes are 100% vegan since they use a plant-based red food coloring agent.

Get some on Amazon

Turkish Delights

Turkish Delights are a Turkish delicacy that make a great holiday gift. They’re vegan by nature and come in many different flavors. Nowadays, certain brands contain gelatin, so always check the ingredients.

Get some on Amazon